top of page
  • Tracy Heck

Devilskin's 'Surfacing' pays tribute to the past while roaring into the future

New Zealand rockers Devilskin are gearing up for a national tour with Tadpole and Skinny Hobos to celebrate their tenth anniversary.

Ahead of the tour, the band has released their first set of new music since 2020.

The Surfacing EP release features six tracks: three of their live set staples and three brand new tracks.

The live faves include the riveting "Whale Song" and their powerful covers of Dio's "Holy Diver" and Heart's "Barracuda."

The tracks are a snapshot of Devilskin's energetic live sets and allows them to stop and take a second to look back at how far they have come.

The EP's three new tracks showcase the band's diversity in sound with the decisiveness of rocker "Let Me Breathe," the broody alternative-flavored "Insects" and the anthemic ballad "Unborn."

Overall, the 6-track release more than lives up to expectations with a delicious mix of fresh twists and turns while staying true to Devilskin 's original sound.

This sponsored review is brought to you by TAG Publicity.

13 views0 comments


bottom of page